Borreliose-Gesellschaft e.V.


    Deutschland   Deutsch

DBG research award

(This page as pdf-file)

The award
The Prize consists of an endowment to the value of 2,000 euros, the publication free of charge by a publisher of the (unpublished) paper with 20 free copies for the author including up to 20 pages in color, and payment of costs for attending the Annual General Meeting of the German Borreliosis Society.

The Prize may be awarded for dissertations and theses in the field of Lyme borreliosis and tick-borne co-infections, published not more than one year earlier or not yet published. Papers on all aspects of Lyme borreliosis will be considered, such as

  •  immunology (interaction between the immune system and the causative agent)
  •  pathogenesis
  •  vaccine development
  •  epidemiology and prophylaxis
  •  ecology of ticks and Borreliae
  •  development and standardisation of serological tests
  •  development of a test for active infections
  •  long-term courses of the infection
among others.

The Prize will be awarded annually and presented at the Annual General Meeting of the German Borreliosis Society. Prize-winners are requested to report on their work in a lecture.

Application and assessment
Dissertations or theses which have been reviewed by an expert will be considered for the Prize. To apply, the paper together with the comments of an examiner, a summary of not more than two sides, and a curriculum vitae with a list of publications should be submitted by e-mail or in duplicate in hardcopy, sent c/o Prof. Dr. Prautzsch, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Am Fasanengarten 5, 76131 Karlsruhe, Applications submitted will be retained by the jurors.

The awardees

Primar Priv.-Doz. DDr. Klaus Eisendle
Thesis (Habilitation): "Neue Aspekte kutaner Borreliosen"


Dr. Iván Bárcena-Uribarri
Dissertation: "Porins in the genus Borrelia - Characterization of P66 and P13"

Dr. Marcus Thein
Dissertation: "Porins of Lyme Disease and Relapsing Fever Spirochetes"



First award: Dr. Corinna Siegel
Dissertation: "Die Bedeutung verschiedener CRASP-Proteine für die Komplementresistenz von Borrelia burgdorferi s.s."

Second award: Dr. Jasmin Skuballa
Dissertation: "Die Rolle des Europäischen Igels (Erinaceus europaeus) in der Epidemiologie zeckenübertragener Krankheiten -Borrelia spp., Anaplasma spp., Rickettsia spp. und FSME-Viren"